Skip to content

spring tour update #1!

March 5, 2011

hey folks!

Hope you are all doing well! I have been on the road for a little over a week, covered a good amount of ground so far, I currently write to you from Valdosta, GA, which is real close to the Florida border.

As always, it has been wonderful to see friends along the way and meet new people as well. I have had some great times in new places as well (what up Athens GA!).

Another constant with all of these travels is the genuine hospitality and support that both myself and my music receive along the way. It is truly heartwarming and ever so encouraging. I give many many thanks to all of you wonderful people.

Ok, now let’s do some re-cap!

  • New York, New York – Tour started off with a midnight show on Feb 23rd at the Rockwood Music Hall. I switched things up a bit and played my nylon string guitar accompanied by my talented and charming friend Marty Fowler on upright bass! Being a late show on Wednesday night, the crowd was small and intimate, but the music was great! Marty really pulled it off and did some great playing on the upright, worked that bow like no other. Let me tell you. I am totally cursing myself for not having any video or photo evidence of the performance. We’ll just have to do it again!
  • Philly! – I returned a beloved the indie rock dive bar known as The Fire. I was greeted by some great friends that I hadn’t seen in a while and some family! Yes! There were some other great acts on the show and it was an all around good time. Great hangs with great folks. I think I just said “great” too many times.

Here is a photo from the next morning in Philly. Hangin’ with my new friend Chico!

  • Baltimore, MD – From Philly, I headed to a place that I had never been before…the mean streets of Baltimore, Maryland. They were in fact not that mean and I played a very cool coffee shop called the Bohemian Coffee House. They had some sweet vegetarian food and a bad ass vintage record player / speaker combo. I wanted to steal it. I made a few new friends and some lovely folks from DC came down to see me! Those sweethearts! Baltimore, you’re alright by me. I will see you again.

Photo from the show!

  • Washington, DC – Ohhh it was good to be back with friends in DC! I love them all! I returned to the infamous 1335 house for a second epic house show. and epic it was my friends, epic it was! I’d say there were 50-60 people there, and all the acts that night were great! Kevin Cassidy opened up, followed my the great men of Ugly. I played last and everyone had been doing a good amount of drinking by then, myself included. The set ended with some help with background vocals, some top notch group clapping, and good times had by all. Can’t wait to go back haha. My DC escapades also included: a lacrosse game, taco bell, crepes, pizza and more pizza, late night trek to the bar, and did I mention great friends? Example: My amazing friend Josef who I got to hang out with in Columbia Heights before I left. Josef is amazing and he showed me around his neighborhood like a true gentlemen and friend.

Dark photo from the DC show.

This Native American had a wonderful time at the party.

  • Raleigh, NC – House show! But before I got to Raleigh, I spent the night in Charlottesville, VA at the home of my wonderful friends Eric and Danielle. What a great hang out time. It was so good to see both of them and chill in their lovely home. We listened to music, we ate delicious food, we laughed, and I even got to stay in their guest room. Bless their hearts!  — Ok, Raleigh time! House show at my wonderful friend Andrew’s place! Featuring myself and one of my favorites, Jenn Mundia! There was pizza, there was PBR, there were good times had by all. Andrew was kind enough to show me some great spots in Raleigh too…great town! Everyone that came to the house show was real cool and it was a blast. Andrew has a comfy couch too. Just sayin’

New song “Missing” from the house show/pizza party! More Videos Here

Creativity!

  • Athens, GA – On the drive from Raleigh to Athens, I stopped in Harrisburg, NC to see my dear friend Brian Guilmette. We have a coffee shop that we go to every time I come through (I think this was my 3rd visit) and we had some good catching up and life talkin’. He’s a great guy. and not bad to look at as well. Then I got back in the car and headed on to Athens. Oh Athens, what a purty town! I really enjoyed my time here. Beautiful weather, fun show, my friend Ashley was a wonderful host. and her dog Kennedy was quite entertaining as well. We went on a lovely afternoon walk around the University of Georgia campus. Definitely a highlight. Athens…I’ll be back, you’re great.
  • Atlanta, GA – I played the Flying Biscuit Cafe in Norcross, GA and had a few friends come out. This cafe/restaurant has a few locations around Georgia and the one that I played was a bit more suburban/family oriented. Not my normal coffee shop setting, but the people there were super kind and I was happy to play. and I had a delicious free dinner! I played for almost two hours, with a break. That longer set may happen a few more times on this tour, so it was good to get one under my belt and not feel like I strained my voice o’ anything. After the show I went to a cool bar with my new friend Ritesh. Another great host! I passed out to Conan when we got back to his apartment, good times. We hit up IHOP the next morning. aaand went to a record store and a park – two of my favorite things! Ritesh is a very smart (and nice!) guy…I think I got a bit smarter just from hanging out and talking with him. I hope to see him again and I am sure I will.
  • Moultrie, GA – This brings us to last night in the small town of Moultrie, GA. After getting off the highway, I followed many dark farm roads to the lovely historic looking town center of Moultrie. The town was built around this big white clock tower building (that I later learned was the courthouse). I got out of my van and the night air was that perfect temperature that you’d feel on a spring or early summer night. I guess I am still adjusting to the fact that I am getting my spring a bit soon, as it is still snowy and cold in NYC and Boston. But I’m not complaining! I was the open mic featured artist at the Beans and Strings venue in Moultrie. Beans and Strings is a cool spot…a half coffee shop, half music store type place. People of all ages were in attendance and they were all very kind. The staff were very encouraging and kind as well, those folks! I sat with some lovely young ladies by the names of Stephanie and Lila. It was nice to get to talk to them and get a sense of their lifestyle and the town. The feelings and conversations I experienced on this random south Georgia night are the type that will stay with me and become some of the quiet defining moments of this journey. It’s the little things people, it’s the little things.

Today, I cross the border into Florida. I’ll be traveling down and back up Florida for the next week! Stopping in Jacksonville, Orlando (twice), Tampa, Miami, and Tallahassee. My mom and aunts are actually going to be in Tampa for a few days so it will be nice to see them. Also, on Tuesday I will pick up the 9th Wonder of the World at the Orlando airport…none other than Mr. Ramon Narvaez! Ramon will be traveling with me from Florida over to SXSW in Austin and then we’ll part ways in San Antonio and I’ll keep moving west. I am very excited to have his company. We totally just goof off all the time, and we have some good chats too, so it is bound to be a memorable adventure. and SXSW!! Oh my god, can’t wait. Ahhhh!

From my summer tour, I can vividly remember leaving Austin and having my first encounters with the southwest, and then onto the western part of the country – where my fascination truly lies! I’ll spend the first half of April making my way up the coast. So excited.

Today is a day of booking and promoting more dates along the way, some travel to Jacksonville, and I am finally going to see the King’s Speech tonight!

I always tell myself that these blog entries won’t be long-winded, but they always are.

Thanks for sticking with me!

much love,

Liam

Comments are closed.