Skip to content

spring tour update #3!

March 29, 2011

Why hello! I didn’t see you standing there…

Hello world, it’s me, Liam. I write to you from a comfortable couch in the home of my favorite newlyweds, Ali & Heather Memarian. Gosh do I love them both. I am lucky enough to be spending this whole week at their apartment in LA, relaxing, hangin’, playing some MUSIC, seeing some friends, and enjoying being in LA in general.

I last wrote right before Ramon and I made the trip to Austin, TX for South by Southwest. The drive was long but Ramon and I soldiered through it like champs. SXSW was an overwhelming time indeed. Spending 5-6 days in that environment was a bit much, I’d probably recommend spending more like 2 or 3 days. Real easy to get burnt out with all the music and people EVERYWHERE. That being said – we had a blast. Saw a lot of cool shows, met some cool folks, ate some great food, and definitely got to know the city of Austin better. Although it was an intense environment and schedule, I felt fortunate to be there and I definitely know what to expect if I ever return to Austin for SXSW.

After leaving Austin I had 6 shows in a row that took me from San Antonio, TX to Riverside, CA. After the moderate whirlwind of SXSW and those 6 shows, it is real nice to have a bit of mellow time in LA – especially with some BFFs that I don’t get to see much! Speaking of BFFs, after SXSW Ramon had to go back to NYC, so he left from San Antonio two days after SXSW. It was so great to have him traveling with me, such a fun time and it was awesome to have a lot of fun experiences and moments with a great friend.

The shows have been a pretty good time indeed. My shows in Austin during SXSW were fun but pretty mellow. On Thursday and Saturday of that week, I opened two afternoon shows, so I think in both cases things really got rolling as the show continued throughout the evening. Regardless, I still had a great time! Other highlights were my 2nd San Antonio show at GIG on the Strip – a really cool “listening room” type venue. Great vibe, great people, great sound…I would totally go back. Also, I played on the ASU campus in Tempe, AZ in this “secret garden” courtyard area. It was dark and we used lanterns and people sat on the grass in the courtyard listening…so very cool! Saw some good friends and had some fun times in Tempe as well!

It is a treat to see friends again, after driving around the country once this summer, and also re-evaluating places I am now visiting for the 2nd time. As expected, I am still very much in awe and in love with the landscapes of the southwest. Vast desert and towering tree-less mountains, with the highway winding through such scenes. As I drove through Palm Desert, CA I encountered a very memorable scene: there was some low lying fog, super tall mountains right near the highway, and tons of wind farms. So cool! It was a little grey out and I was listening to The National…certainly an amazing moment that will stay with me.

Speaking of moments captured in time…let’s see some pictures you word happy jerk!

One of the first bands we saw after arriving in Austin around 11pm, after a 9 hour drive:

Peelander-Z! a Japanese “punk rock meets Most Extreme Elimination Challenge” band.

Quote of the night…”More Louder!!”

Ramon is a Star Magnet!!

Classic SXSW.

Me throwing a banana peel off of the Congress St. Bridge which we walked many a’ time.

Twin Shadow opening for The Strokes. Austin skyline in the background!

super cool Muzzle of Bees Backyard BBQ show. “So happy I was invited…gave me a reason to get out of the city…”

Believe it or not, this packed fridge was not the most amazing sight at house party/concert at The Plant in Kyle, TX. Check out this architectural wonder of a fortress here: http://theplantatkyle.com

A-mazing free Bright Eyes show!

Beloved Tacodeli where we enjoyed breakfast tacos 3 times during our stay. Nestled away in the green hills of west Austin.

A delicious bye bye Austin drink.

 

 

 

 

 

Scenes from the famous Salt Lick BBQ in Driftwood, TX!

 

 

I love the Riverwalk in San Antonio!!

YES.

A delicious bye bye Ramon drink.

Studio 13 in San Antonio.

“Plane Ride” live from GIG on the Strip in San Antonio

 

Secret Garden show at ASU in Tempe, AZ.

Jazz N Java in Riverside, CA.

Ali and I! Taken just a moment ago. Good Morning LA!

So many pictures. I hope you enjoyed them!

I am looking forward to the rest of my week here in LA. I play The Hotel Cafe at 7pm on Thursday, with Ali and our friend Brad backing me on guitar and bass…can’t wait for that! After LA I head up to San Francisco for a few days which I am incredibly excited about as well!

Upward and onward!

Hope everyone is well, thanks for reading and for the support along the way ❤

– Liam

 

Comments are closed.